1 month free: no ads plus full access.

Metals API Pricing

Start free with 200 requests a month and no card. Every plan has a per-minute limit on each key; Free, Starter, Basic and Pro also have a monthly allowance, and Ultimate and Enterprise don't. Commercial use is allowed on all of them.

Free

Live spot prices for a personal site or a weekend project

$0

No card, just a credit link

Per month
200requests, all keys
Per minute
10weight, per key
  • 1 API key
  • 30 days, daily history
  • Live spot prices

Starter

Live and historical metal prices for a small site or app

$90/yr

$7.50/mo

Per month
10,000requests, all keys
Per minute
20weight, per key
  • 2 API keys
  • 1 year history
  • Metals + 1yr history

Basic

Every market price, plus history and news, for products and scripts

$290/yr

$24.17/mo

Per month
250,000requests, all keys
Per minute
30weight, per key
  • 3 API keys
  • 1 year history
  • All prices + 1yr history
Most popular

Pro

Exchange data most metals APIs don't carry: inventory, COT, premiums

$990/yr

$82.50/mo

Per month
1,000,000requests, all keys
Per minute
200weight, per key
  • 10 API keys
  • 5 years history
  • COMEX, COT, Shanghai + 5yr

Ultimate

The full record: gold and silver daily since 1966, bulk downloads, every dataset and no monthly cap

$2,490/yr

$207.50/mo

Per month
No cap
Per minute
1,000weight, per key
  • 25 API keys
  • Daily back to 1966 history
  • Bulk CSV, GFEX, supply, news AI

Enterprise

Everything in Ultimate, plus an uptime SLA, a support response time, higher limits and redistribution rights by agreement

$10,000/yr

$833.33/mo

Per month
No cap
Per minute
3,000weight, per key
  • 50 API keys
  • Daily back to 1966 history
  • Redistribution + 99.9% SLA

Custom terms or redistribution rights? Contact us

Feature comparison

Feature
Free
$0/yr
Starter
$90/yr
Basic
$290/yr
Pro
$990/yr
Ultimate
$2,490/yr
Enterprise
$10,000/yr
Limits
Per-minute limit (weight, per API key)1020302001,0003,000
Monthly allowance (weight, all keys combined)20010,000250,0001,000,000No capNo cap
API keys123102550
Credit link on public displaysRequiredNot requiredNot requiredNot requiredNot requiredNot required
Historical data30 days, daily1 year1 year5 yearsDaily back to 1966Daily back to 1966
Bulk history download (one CSV)
Real-Time Data
Precious metals (XAU, XAG, XPT, XPD)
Base metals (Cu, Al, Zn, Ni, Pb, Sn)
Commodities (60+)
Cryptocurrencies
ETFs (GLD, SLV, ...)
Indices (SPX, DJI, DAX, ...)
HyperLiquid markets
Derivatives
Perpetual funding rates
Regional Exchanges
COMEX (inventory, volume/OI, delivery)
LBMA (vault, clearing)
Shanghai (SGE + SHFE)
India (MCX)
GFEX Hong Kong (Pt, Pd)
GFEX warehouse receipts (lithium, silicon)
Analytics & Reference
NewsFull articles + feedFull articles + feedFull + sentiment + searchFull + sentiment + search
COT Reports
Supply data
Economic calendar
Currency rates32 currencies32 currencies32 currencies32 currencies32 currencies32 currencies
Market status
All-time highsAll assetsAll assetsAll assetsAll assetsAll assets
Bullion dealer premiums
Instrument catalogue
Commitments
Redistribution to other businessesBy agreement
Uptime SLA99.9% monthly, with service credits
Support response time1 business day

Limits

Exactly how the limits work

Every number below is what the API enforces. Both limits are counted in weight, and most calls cost 1.
Rate limits, monthly allowances, API keys and history depth for each MetalCharts API plan
PlanPer minuteweight, per API keyPer monthweight, all keys combinedAPI keysHistory
Free$010200200 spot calls or 100 history calls130 days, daily
Starter$9/mo2010,00010,000 spot calls or 5,000 history calls21 year
Basic$29/mo30250,000250,000 spot calls or 125,000 history calls31 year
Pro$99/mo2001,000,0001,000,000 spot calls or 500,000 history calls105 years
Ultimate$249/mo1,000No monthly cap25Full, back to 1966
Enterprise$1,200/mo3,000No monthly cap50Full, back to 1966
  1. 01

    What a request costs

    Every call costs weight. Spot prices, market status, instruments and most other endpoints cost 1. History and news cost 2. News search and sentiment cost 3. Checking your own usage at /v1/usage costs 0. Both limits are counted in weight, so a 10,000 allowance is 10,000 spot calls or 5,000 history calls.

  2. 02

    The per-minute limit is per key

    Each API key has its own per-minute limit, counted in fixed one-minute windows that reset at the start of every minute (UTC). Go over it and that key gets a 429 with a Retry-After header giving the seconds until the next minute. Your other keys are unaffected.

  3. 03

    The monthly allowance is per account

    On plans that have one, the monthly allowance is shared by all of your keys and counted per calendar month in UTC. It resets at 00:00 UTC on the 1st. We email you at 80% and 100% of it. Requests keep working to 10% past it; after that every request returns a 429 saying the monthly quota is exceeded, until the reset or until you upgrade.

  4. 04

    What counts and what doesn't

    Every request with a valid key for data your plan includes counts toward both limits. A request refused with a 429 counts toward the per-minute limit, so a key that keeps retrying stays refused, but not toward the monthly allowance. A request with a missing or invalid key (401), or for data your plan doesn't include (403), counts toward neither.

  5. 05

    No surprise bills

    Going over a limit never charges you and never upgrades your plan. You change plans yourself from the pricing page or the API console: an upgrade charges only the difference for the rest of the billing period, a downgrade credits the unused time to your next invoices, and the new limits apply to your keys within 20 seconds.

  6. 06

    Every response tells you where you stand

    Responses carry X-RateLimit-Limit, X-RateLimit-Remaining, X-RateLimit-Used and X-RateLimit-Reset for the current minute. On plans with a monthly allowance they also carry X-RateLimit-Month-Limit, X-RateLimit-Month-Remaining, X-RateLimit-Month-Used, X-RateLimit-Month-Grace-Limit (where refusals start) and X-RateLimit-Month-Reset.

Compared

How the price compares

What the main metals APIs charge for the same monthly volume, from their own pricing pages.
Metals API prices compared at 10,000 and 250,000 requests a month
ProviderFree tierAbout 10,000 requests/moAbout 250,000 requests/moMetals per requestHistory
MetalCharts200 a month$9/mo (Starter, 10,000)$29/mo (Basic, 250,000)All 13 metals in one /v1/prices call1 year on Starter and Basic, 5 on Pro, gold back to 1966 on Ultimate and Enterprise
Metals.Dev100 a month$9.99/mo (10,000)$99.99/mo (500,000; the 100,000 plan is too small)All metals and currencies from /v1/latestNot stated on the pricing page
MetalpriceAPI100 a month, daily updates$12/mo billed yearly (10,000)$49/mo billed yearly (250,000)All metals and currencies from /latest by defaultNot stated on the pricing page
Metals-APINone on the pricing page$79.99/mo (10,000)$219.99/mo (500,000; the 100,000 plan is too small)Up to 20 symbols on the 10,000 plan, 40 on the 500,000 planTime-series capped at 30 days per request on the 10,000 plan, 120 days on the 500,000 plan
GoldAPIUp to 300 a month$99/mo (Pro, unlimited)$99/mo (Pro, unlimited)One metal and currency, as in /api/price/XAU/USDDaily prices; covers gold, silver, platinum and palladium only

Figures from each provider's public pricing page (linked), checked November 5, 2026. Metals per request comes from each provider's API docs. Plans change, so follow the links for current terms.

FAQ

Pricing questions

How much does the MetalCharts API cost?

Free $0, Starter $9/month, Basic $29/month, Pro $99/month, Ultimate $249/month, Enterprise $1,200/month. Paying yearly costs ten months instead of twelve. Every plan, Free included, allows commercial use.

What are the rate limits on each plan?

Per minute, each API key may use 10 weight on Free, 20 on Starter, 30 on Basic, 200 on Pro, 1,000 on Ultimate and 3,000 on Enterprise. Per month, the whole account may use 200 weight on Free, 10,000 on Starter, 250,000 on Basic and 1,000,000 on Pro. Ultimate and Enterprise have no monthly cap.

What is weight?

The unit both limits are counted in. Spot prices, market status, instruments and most endpoints cost 1 weight a call, history and news cost 2, news search and sentiment cost 3, and /v1/usage costs 0. So a 10,000 allowance is 10,000 spot calls or 5,000 history calls.

What happens if I go over a limit?

Over the per-minute limit, that key gets a 429 with a Retry-After header giving the seconds until the next minute; your other keys keep working. Over the monthly allowance, every request returns a 429 until 00:00 UTC on the 1st. You are never charged for going over, and the plan never upgrades itself.

Do requests that get a 429 count toward my limits?

Yes. Every request with a valid key for data your plan includes counts, refused or not. A request with an invalid key (401) or for data outside your plan (403) doesn't count toward either limit.

Is the monthly allowance per key or per account?

Per account. All of your keys draw on one monthly allowance, and it resets at 00:00 UTC on the 1st of each month. The per-minute limit is the one that applies to each key separately.

I subscribed to Basic before October 8, 2026. Does the monthly cap apply to me?

No. Basic subscriptions that started before October 8, 2026 keep the uncapped Basic they signed up for, as long as the subscription stays active. New Basic subscriptions include 250,000 requests a month.

I subscribed to Pro before it had a monthly allowance. Does the cap apply to me?

No. Pro subscriptions that started before the monthly allowance arrived on October 18, 2026 keep the uncapped Pro they signed up for, as long as the subscription stays active, including when they switch between monthly and yearly billing. New Pro subscriptions include 1,000,000 weight a month.

Can I change plans at any time?

Yes, from this page or your API console. Your subscription changes in place, so an upgrade charges only the difference for the rest of your billing period, and a downgrade credits the unused time to your next invoices. The new limits reach your keys within 20 seconds.

What is Enterprise?

Everything in Ultimate, plus a 99.9% monthly uptime SLA backed by service credits, a first support response within one business day, 3,000 weight a minute and 50 keys. It is $1,200 a month or $10,000 a year through checkout. Enterprise is also the only plan that can carry the right to redistribute data, for example supplying it to other businesses, which is granted for named datasets in a written agreement: write to [email protected].

Do I need both website Premium and an API plan?

No. Premium is for the website (ad-free, portfolio tracker, Terminal). API plans are for programmatic access. They are separate subscriptions; choose either or both.

All API plans, Free included, are governed by the API Terms of Service, which cover what you may do with the data, rate limits, billing and availability.

Not sure which plan? Start free.

200 requests a month with no card. Upgrade from the console when you need history or more volume; the new limits apply within 20 seconds.